Back home

It’s been an extremely busy few weeks, with two trips to the USA to present at conferences, and another to Bundaberg for AMEB flute examining.  The travel continues with another examining trip this week to Rockhampton, and then to the Sunshine Coast in October to play in the pit band for a new musical.  More on that later.

Life is busy, which is great!

The two conferences I presented my doctoral work at in the USA were the Performing Arts Medicine Symposium in Snowmass (Aspen), Colorado, and the National Flute Association Convention in Anaheim (Los Angeles).  I was pretty thrilled to have been asked to publish the paper I presented at the PAMA symposium!   The flute convention was as big a buzz as always, with a fantastic line-up of guest artists and presenters, and the incredibly addictive trade hall, with the biggest display of music, flutes, recordings and accessories a flute player could hope for.  If you haven’t been to a National Flute Convention in the USA before, this great report pretty much sums it up:

Wanted to take this opportunity to give huge congratulations to my student Brijette Tubb, who was recently awarded a High Distinction in her Licentiate in Music, Australia (LMusA) examination. This is a high honour indeed and I’m very proud of her.  This semester Brijette is also playing Principal Flute with the Queensland Conservatorium Symphony Orchestra.

After the flute convention, I travelled to Las Vegas especially to hear my favourite drummer, Gary Wallis, performing with the Tom Jones band in two concerts. Without a doubt, Gary is one of the most natural, intuitive, and powerful musicians I’ve ever heard in my life.

Much as I’d love to have the time to keep blogging, I have a day of teaching ahead, both at the Queensland Conservatorium (Griffith University), and in my home studio.  Many students have exams, major competitions, and auditions coming up, so really must keep moving!

Leave a Reply

